RETURN TO LIGHTHOUSE MAIN PAGE »
Conneaut West Breakwater Lighthouse
The town of Conneaut (pronounced "con-e-aught") is located in the northeast corner of Ohio, on the shores of Lake Erie. The town lies on an old Indian trail,
subsequently used by settlers seeking their fortunes on the western frontier. Seneca Indians called the creek that empties into Lake Erie at this point Konyiat,
meaning place of many fish, from which the town's name was derived.
The port was first marked by a lighthouse on a pier in 1835. By 1885, the pier had become too deteriorated, and a light was exhibited from a tower located adjacent
to the keeper's dwelling, which had been constructed at the end of Harbor Street in 1873.
In the 1890s a new Conneaut Lighthouse was built at the end of a pier. This lighthouse served until 1917, when at a cost of $125,000, a new lighthouse was built on
a cement crib, located at the end of a long breakwater on the west side of the harbor. This lighthouse consisted of a unique, square two-story brick and cement edifice,
with a tower rising an additional story from one corner.
Location: At the end of the west breakwater in the harbor at Conneaut, Ohio.
Here is the weather for Conneaut, Ohio.